In the mood for stew!

I made a wonderful Colombian stew called Sancocho. I decided to make it after watching Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations Dominican Republic episode:

After watching the show, I was on a mission to make sancocho, but the recipe I found happened to be Colombian.  Now, I am going to post the link to the recipe, but I made a lot of substitutions based on economics, season and availability:

Recipe: Colombian Sancocho

Sit tight because I made a ton of substitutions, deletions and additions:

Tomatoes – I forgot to buy them, so I just poured in leftover salsa

Cassava – I substituted it with jewel yams.

Cilantro – I didn’t want to buy any, so I just added Goya Sazon and Oregano for flavor

Additions:

Kale – I just wanted to add something green

Leftover dumpling dough from the Trini dumplings – I didn’t want the leftover dough to go to waste

Deletions:

Corn – I didn’t want to buy any canned or frozen corn because I just wanted to save a some money and use whatever I had left in my fridge.

Here is the picture!

sancocho_dumplings

 

I have eaten most of it, as my roommate isn’t interested in eating any of it.  I have already run out of chicken!  Eeek!

To clean up afterwards, I used Melaleuca Tough and Tender all purpose cleaner and Melaleuca Sol-u-guard to sanitize the area.  Dishwashing was more pleasant because it smelled like Apple Jolly Ranchers when I used Melaleuca Lemon Brite Apple Scented hand dishwashing liquid!  After all of that cleaning up, I used Melaleuca Renew lotion to make sure that my hands don’t get too dry!  It is always nice to have products I like that aren’t harsh on my skin so it makes cleaning a little bit more tolerable.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some dishes to wash.

 

Leave a Reply

